View unanswered posts | View active topics * FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Silent2001
 
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 14 2016, 21:56 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdomshire

So I just straight up can't connect. I've added NWN to the exceptions on my router settings, flushed my DNS case and cried deeply. Any ideas?




*i dont have any DCs

_________________
Image<3 Maryn
We are going to die and that makes us the lucky ones.


 
      
davis114
 
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 14 2016, 21:58 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 16 Dec 2007

You got the right IP address in your direct connect settings? Running in compatibility mode? Any messages that happen when you try to connect? Checked the Event Viewer? Have new CD keys that haven't been authorized?

_________________
Image

MoshingChris wrote:
Dude makes like a drunk even when he's sober.


 
      
Maverick00053
 
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 14 2016, 21:59 PM 

User avatar

Administrative Developer

Joined: 14 Oct 2006

We need more details than that. What does it say/do exactly?

Do you have the 1.69 critical rebuild? Do you have the haks all installed properly? Did you enter the direct connect IP right? Did you buy a new copy of the game from GOG without getting a multiplayer CD key? Give us something.

_________________
Active
Levexal
Techsmith Tokas Tokersun - http://amiaworld.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=88661


 
      
Silent2001
 
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 14 2016, 22:02 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdomshire

Attempting to find server.
Connection to server failed.
Server is not responding (timed out).

My NWN hasn't changed in the past two years or so, I have the crit rebuild, same CD keys and if the IP in the top left of the forum is correct then yep, put it in right. Manually too! I'm a noob and have no idea where to find the event viewer.

_________________
Image<3 Maryn
We are going to die and that makes us the lucky ones.


 
      
davis114
 
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 14 2016, 22:06 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 16 Dec 2007

You have a fun new antivirus program?

_________________
Image

MoshingChris wrote:
Dude makes like a drunk even when he's sober.


 
      
Silent2001
 
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 14 2016, 22:08 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdomshire

Nope!

_________________
Image<3 Maryn
We are going to die and that makes us the lucky ones.


 
      
davis114
 
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 14 2016, 22:10 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 16 Dec 2007

Check anyway. Make sure Windows Firewall isn't blocking it and that your antivirus isn't blocking it, since you've already checked your router. Nine times out of ten you only get that message if something is blocking your connection.

Edit: Automatic updates can change your firewall and AV settings. That's why I'm telling you to do that.

_________________
Image

MoshingChris wrote:
Dude makes like a drunk even when he's sober.


 
      
Silent2001
 
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 14 2016, 22:13 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdomshire

Disabled firewall, all my anti-virus stuff and still no luck. The dream is dead </3

_________________
Image<3 Maryn
We are going to die and that makes us the lucky ones.


 
      
davis114
 
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 14 2016, 22:20 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 16 Dec 2007

Quote:
In your NWN folder, open your nwnplayer.ini text file, and scroll down until you see this section:

[Profile]
ShowMessageOfTheDay=0
Client Port=5120
ShowPregenChars=1
JournalPage=1
Player Name=*****
Email Address=*****
...

For each computer that will be using the connection, you will need to give it a Client Port number that isn't already used.

So friend #1 will need to have that line in their own nwnplayer.ini edited to Client Port=5121
Friend #2 will need to have that line in their own nwnplayer.ini edited to Client Port=5122
... and so forth.



Humor me and do that. Let's see if it's a port issue. Try it with a few ports up to 5125.

_________________
Image

MoshingChris wrote:
Dude makes like a drunk even when he's sober.


 
      
davis114
 
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 14 2016, 22:29 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 16 Dec 2007

If that doesn't do anything, come back with the type of router you have. Also try opening a command prompt and pinging the server.

Type this in command prompt:

ping 185.29.203.11

Let me know what outputs.

Your Event Viewer is in Control Panel \ Administrative Tools, btw. That's generally helpful.

_________________
Image

MoshingChris wrote:
Dude makes like a drunk even when he's sober.


 
      
Commie
 
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 14 2016, 23:12 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 02 Dec 2015

Type the ip and port in manually and dont copy paste it.

_________________
ANT ALARM

Count Kaldrjarn Pitt | Archmage Kilmar | Sarguk Morderer

ANT ALARM

MisterLich wrote:
First of all, my brain is one of the best here.


 
      
Commie
 
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 14 2016, 23:13 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 02 Dec 2015

Silent2001 wrote:
Attempting to find server.
Connection to server failed.
Server is not responding (timed out).

My NWN hasn't changed in the past two years or so, I have the crit rebuild, same CD keys and if the IP in the top left of the forum is correct then yep, put it in right. Manually too! I'm a noob and have no idea where to find the event viewer.


Either click the start button and type "event viewer" and hit enter or ask cortana to open it

_________________
ANT ALARM

Count Kaldrjarn Pitt | Archmage Kilmar | Sarguk Morderer

ANT ALARM

MisterLich wrote:
First of all, my brain is one of the best here.


 
      
davis114
 
PostPosted: Thu, Apr 14 2016, 23:46 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 16 Dec 2007

GTFO until I ask for gun blade expertise, Commie.

But seriously, what he said.

_________________
Image

MoshingChris wrote:
Dude makes like a drunk even when he's sober.


 
      
Commie
 
PostPosted: Fri, Apr 15 2016, 0:41 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 02 Dec 2015

if you can't get through with a direct ip and you are 100% absolutely fucking positive that the right numbers and shit are typed correctly there's a chance your isp is just fucking up.

_________________
ANT ALARM

Count Kaldrjarn Pitt | Archmage Kilmar | Sarguk Morderer

ANT ALARM

MisterLich wrote:
First of all, my brain is one of the best here.


 
      
The1Kobra
 
PostPosted: Fri, Apr 15 2016, 13:20 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 12 Oct 2009

I'd recommend opening a command prompt and running this command:

tracert 185.29.203.11

Let me know what it returns, it may help find the issue.

_________________
I play:
Image


 
      
Silent2001
 
PostPosted: Fri, Apr 15 2016, 18:21 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdomshire

I will be retrying with all the suggestions you guys have made tonight. Here's hoping!

_________________
Image<3 Maryn
We are going to die and that makes us the lucky ones.


 
      
Gravemaskin
 
PostPosted: Fri, Apr 15 2016, 20:00 PM 

User avatar

DM

Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Location: Norway: Home of the Trolls

Find a free VPN service and connect to it, then try and connect to the server.. If you still can't, then it's something on your PC that's doing it, not your isp. If it works, then it's the router or isp.

_________________
Adair - Druid and part time treant cosplayer


 
      
Silent2001
 
PostPosted: Fri, Apr 15 2016, 20:08 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdomshire

http://i.imgur.com/GP7RTBq.jpg

^ That's my tracert, changed the multiplayer settings but still no luck

_________________
Image<3 Maryn
We are going to die and that makes us the lucky ones.


 
      
Gravemaskin
 
PostPosted: Fri, Apr 15 2016, 20:24 PM 

User avatar

DM

Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Location: Norway: Home of the Trolls

Yep.. It times out the second you reach the server stage so there's something weird going on there.

Check your hosts file (C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts) and see if the problem's there. Not sure why it would be but.. better safe than sorry?

Also try out a free VPN service. Just google "Free VPN" and find one that's free or comes with a free trial. Set it up and see if you can connect now. VPN's are great for bypassing local problems or lockouts so just in case that's the reason behind it, the VPN should let you connect and work around it.

Whatever's blocking it, it's not NWN itself because even the traceroute dies out when it tries to ping the server.
Maybe the server's blacklisted your IP for some reason?

_________________
Adair - Druid and part time treant cosplayer


 
      
Silent2001
 
PostPosted: Fri, Apr 15 2016, 23:49 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdomshire

Downloaded Anonymizer Universal, got the trial, it failed to protect me due to an internal routing error. This is an awful lot of hassle. :P

EDIT: Got it working, still couldn't connect.

_________________
Image<3 Maryn
We are going to die and that makes us the lucky ones.


 
      
Gravemaskin
 
PostPosted: Sat, Apr 16 2016, 6:09 AM 

User avatar

DM

Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Location: Norway: Home of the Trolls

Then the problem has to lie with your PC somewhere.. but I haven't got the foggiest idea where. Have you tried it from another PC on the same connection ?

_________________
Adair - Druid and part time treant cosplayer


 
      
davis114
 
PostPosted: Sat, Apr 16 2016, 19:29 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 16 Dec 2007

Gravemaskin wrote:
Then the problem has to lie with your PC somewhere.. but I haven't got the foggiest idea where. Have you tried it from another PC on the same connection ?


If it were to work with another PC, then it's a problem with yours. If it didn't, it's a problem with your router. Which is still a strong possibility. Primarily that certain ports are being blocked through your router's firewall, even if you have made an exception for the program itself.

_________________
Image

MoshingChris wrote:
Dude makes like a drunk even when he's sober.


 
      
Silent2001
 
PostPosted: Sat, Apr 16 2016, 19:44 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdomshire

Last night I was trouble-shooting my VPN and changed a network adapter setting and all of a sudden I can connect. So this evening I may or may not appear!

_________________
Image<3 Maryn
We are going to die and that makes us the lucky ones.


 
      
GreatPigeon
 
PostPosted: Sat, Apr 16 2016, 20:29 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 04 May 2009
Location: London, UK

I told you to do that telepathically. I can has DCz?

_________________
The Peacock wrote:
[GreatPigeon] is better than me.


Uncle-Opustus wrote:
Just before I fall asleep, I like to pretend it's just a public feat so Pigeon can succeed in politics and save the world from poverty... with his unicorn and shining armour and Excalibur.


 
      
davis114
 
PostPosted: Sat, Apr 16 2016, 20:30 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 16 Dec 2007

Ah ha! Good call Grave. Definitely a problem with your router then I'd say. You're tunneling past whatever the issue is by using the VPN. If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

_________________
Image

MoshingChris wrote:
Dude makes like a drunk even when he's sober.


 
      
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group