View unanswered posts | View active topics * FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
jmaximum
 
PostPosted: Mon, Jul 04 2016, 6:35 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 24 Aug 2010

hi DM's!
I just loaded NWN after some serious time away. No prompt to add new haks, so I think I am up to date. But, as soon as Amia loaded, my character had a solid edge of screen to edge of screen color block running through him, that moved with the toon.
Any ideas on this?

Thanks!


 
      
Suhjet
 
PostPosted: Mon, Jul 04 2016, 6:45 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 06 Sep 2012

There was a hak update within the last year or so, so make sure you have the latest pack anyway.

Make sure drivers are up to date, compatibility mode, etc.

_________________
Melsa

What a familiar feeling.
The restrictiveness of the human body.
To see through your eyes, the world around you still looks no different to me, but it's what you desire that brought you here.
And these are the things I'm blind to.


 
      
jmaximum
 
PostPosted: Wed, Jul 06 2016, 5:40 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 24 Aug 2010

drivers are definitely up to date, running on new build with GTX-1070 vidcard.
Good chance I may have forgot to run it in compatibility mode, though.
Will try that anbd report back....


 
      
jmaximum
 
PostPosted: Wed, Jul 06 2016, 6:01 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 24 Aug 2010

Same issue still exists in both WinXP SP3 and Vista SP2 compatibility modes.
noticed another char in the waiting room area, and he appeared the same to me, too: solid color black passing throught the torso from end to end of the room.
Confirmed running NWN v1.69.


 
      
Kudark
 
PostPosted: Wed, Jul 06 2016, 6:14 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 14 Dec 2009
Location: The Dark Side of the Moon

Do you have Nvidia? I know there are some issues with those vid cards on Amia.

_________________
Image


 
      
Commie
 
PostPosted: Wed, Jul 06 2016, 6:37 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 02 Dec 2015

got a screenshot? is it a polygon or just a shadow? nwn shadows are fucked on newer nvidia cards.

does it look like this?

http://i.imgur.com/gtpAY5u.jpg

_________________
ANT ALARM

Count Kaldrjarn Pitt | Archmage Kilmar | Sarguk Morderer

ANT ALARM

MisterLich wrote:
First of all, my brain is one of the best here.


 
      
jmaximum
 
PostPosted: Fri, Jul 08 2016, 7:05 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 24 Aug 2010

starting clean install of NWN.
Been so long, I don't remember where to extract heads/hands to (which folder). <-- help would be appreciated :)
Figured out custom portraits.

Screen cap of the issue is a brilliant idea! Unfortunately, I didn't read this before I blew the whole thing out and started from scratch.
Working on installing most recent Amia hak pack...


 
      
jmaximum
 
PostPosted: Fri, Jul 08 2016, 7:32 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 24 Aug 2010

Ok, screen capped the problem, even after reinstalling everything.
System:
i7-6800K
32GB RAM
MSI Z7170A M5 board
MSI GTX-1070 vidcard

Toon issues:
http://imgur.com/a/4NIpV
http://imgur.com/a/uiMk2
Also, my toon is missing his head when I remove the helmet.

Apologies if Imgur links are not cool, but I didn't see ab option to upload pics.

Thanks for the help folks!


 
      
Commie
 
PostPosted: Fri, Jul 08 2016, 7:40 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 02 Dec 2015

did you dl and install the headpacks

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=55960

or other optional downloads which shouldn't be optional?

_________________
ANT ALARM

Count Kaldrjarn Pitt | Archmage Kilmar | Sarguk Morderer

ANT ALARM

MisterLich wrote:
First of all, my brain is one of the best here.


 
      
lilmarcat
 
PostPosted: Fri, Jul 08 2016, 9:18 AM 



Player

Joined: 27 Dec 2013

Looks like it could anisotropic filtering. You may have preset options for it on in your GPU that could be overriding your NWN settings.


 
      
jmaximum
 
PostPosted: Fri, Jul 08 2016, 21:11 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 24 Aug 2010

Could you elaborate on that please?
I don't really know what that is.
All overrides and haks have been installed.


 
      
jmaximum
 
PostPosted: Mon, Jul 11 2016, 0:07 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 24 Aug 2010

Ok, looked in to this from lilmarcat: "anisotropic filtering"
Turned it off in the internal settings for the card.
Still no luck. Seems to be isolated to my character - was in the waiting room with three chars the other day and it was only happening to me.
have moved camera angle around, turned all shading/lighting/textures to various settings in-game - still having the same problem.
Tried looking this up online, but very little/no content.

Help Amia Tech Support, you're my only hope....


 
      
Commie
 
PostPosted: Mon, Jul 11 2016, 0:10 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 02 Dec 2015

Possible your gpu is broken.

Check other games and do benchmark tests.

_________________
ANT ALARM

Count Kaldrjarn Pitt | Archmage Kilmar | Sarguk Morderer

ANT ALARM

MisterLich wrote:
First of all, my brain is one of the best here.


 
      
jmaximum
 
PostPosted: Mon, Jul 11 2016, 3:48 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 24 Aug 2010

Ran 3Dmark11 benchmark testing downloaded from Steam.
No issues at all with the graphics, physics (solid and soft), light and shadows.
http://imgur.com/a/GA0Js
Looks like it tested pretty good, which, in this situation, is bad LOL

EDIT: entered game, note that it's NOT happening to the guard moving up from the bottom of the screen: http://imgur.com/a/nSDQr
EDIT2: also, installed all current Amia content, but people are still missing parts: http://imgur.com/a/94mq8
EDIT3: downloaded and ran Warhammer 40K: Kill Team through Steam without issue, no graphics issues (and it's a graphics-intensive game).

EDIT4: Exchanged the vidcard cuz the newer version came out.Went from MSI GTX-1070 Founders Edition to MSI GTX-1070X (only difference is X version can be OC'd). ANd, no surprise, same issue exists. Is anyone else using a GTX-1070 or 1080? Did you have this issue, and did you find a workaround?


 
      
jmaximum
 
PostPosted: Sat, Jul 16 2016, 5:34 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 24 Aug 2010

I could still really use some help here folks, running out of ideas on my own....


 
      
Commie
 
PostPosted: Sat, Jul 16 2016, 5:44 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 02 Dec 2015

wagering a guess that if you're still literally missing torsos and heads and shit you didn't install all the files correctly.

_________________
ANT ALARM

Count Kaldrjarn Pitt | Archmage Kilmar | Sarguk Morderer

ANT ALARM

MisterLich wrote:
First of all, my brain is one of the best here.


 
      
jmaximum
 
PostPosted: Sun, Jul 17 2016, 9:08 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 24 Aug 2010

Naw, it's still the issue of the color block going from wall to wall.
I THINK other toons missing parts (to me) is part of the issue.
Copy/Pasta'd all Amia files from the working version of NWN on my laptop.


 
      
jmaximum
 
PostPosted: Wed, Aug 03 2016, 3:05 AM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 24 Aug 2010

So, if anyone is still monitoring this thread: I spoke with Nvidia, and their answer was pretty much 'wait for the next driver update.' Blah.


 
      
rafaelmacgyver
 
PostPosted: Fri, Aug 05 2016, 14:15 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 12 Apr 2010
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

I used to have a lot of video issues too... the only thing that remains is the "evil moving line on the sky on Bendir and Kohl"

I've fixed it all by doing a very simple thing! I went to the Advanced Video Options on the game and disabled the option Enable Shiny Water. And surprising enough even problems that had nothing to do with water effects got fixed.

Always played with Nvidia cards too, not sure if my weird trick will work for you since you are using one that is new and maybe you will really have to wait for the next driver update.. but you can still try my weird trick and see what happens! XD

_________________
Wilfire Strongfeet (Tight pants)
Adela Griffonheart (Poke)
Hallvardr Erikson (Sexy Boy)
Emilly MacMillan (Happy)

Image Image

Sprites by Raua!


 
      
jmaximum
 
PostPosted: Sun, Aug 07 2016, 12:08 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 24 Aug 2010

I appreciate the suggestion, bu unfortunately it did not resolve the issue :(
As I mentioned above, even NVidia has no idea, and they quietly closed the ticket on me, too, without any further feedback.
Basically I just have to wait and hope the next driver update has a fix.


 
      
jmaximum
 
PostPosted: Mon, Aug 22 2016, 23:56 PM 

User avatar

Player

Joined: 24 Aug 2010

ok, driver version 21.21.13.7254 from 8/11/16 WORKS!!!!! if anyone else is having the issue I was, update now!


 
      
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group