View unanswered posts | View active topics * FAQ    * Search
* Login 

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 273 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Shadowfiend

PostPosted: Mon, Dec 19 2016, 13:42 PM 

Player

Since I started playing on Amia there has always been this go to punishment in game, which is bans. It has been such a normal punishment to hand out that the last years I have played, I have barely seen other punishments been used for a long time.

Some years ago handing out bans might have been a good thing. There were more players, that came to Amia with different intentions, some bad and some good. Back then bans were a good way to mark the people who came to Amia to troll and ruin peoples fun. Today however we are far fewer players and characters and banning someone means excluding someone, or at least someones character (which is a huge blow to players who prefer playing 1 or 2 characters).

To continue to use bans has become unhealthy for the server. It removes conflict where, in my opinion, it is sorely needed. It isn't the trolls that are banned anymore, but the characters that create conflict or upset the status quo. To use bans is to destroy the potential of any player driven story as you remove the possible antagonists to your character.

Conflict is the root in any story, and to that extent it is the corner stone in rp. Without conflict we aren't roleplaying, but socializing in a fantasy world with fantasy avatars. By removing the villainous or upsetting characters you remove the opportunity of your own characters growing.

I think it is well due to find more original ways to punish people In Game. Many of the playerbase are owners, or take part in factions. Would these people not punish those that have slighted them rather than removing them from their town? while banning people sure makes a statement, it does little to evolve the story but to exclude your town and character from it.

robbi320